You would think I’m getting fat…

considering how many blog posts I’ve posted about food. But aside from food, I really find no inspiration to write about anything else.

My brother just published his cookbook: "We Eat Together" (http://www.gabewong.ca/weeattogether/), and it’s a beautiful book based on locavorism, and where our food comes from.  He visited 7 local food producers/farms, and interviewed each one. His partners in crime were Julianne Mimande (who started the local organic restaurant "Bacon") and Zach Ayotte, photographer.  My brother is selling his book locally at Audreys, Greenwoods, D’Lish, Paddy’s Cheese Market, Carbon Environmental Boutique, and Blue Plate Diner.  You can also get it online (+$5 shipping)

It’s a wonderful book, and I read it in one sitting. It’s very comforting to know how these people produce and enjoy their food (from raising pigs to making honey and cold-pressed oils).  The pictures are beautiful.  If you’re Edmontonian, I really suggest buying this book, and then enjoying the recipes from it.

Really, now that I’ve been shopping locally, it’s really easy to make and host dinners, make REALLY simple foods, and have them taste exceptional. It’s not cheap, but the convenience of actually enjoying gourmet at home is well worth the price.

This entry was posted in Food and drink. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment