On the road again…

…to online dating. It’s a silly concept. The website Plenty of Fish is much too free, and too hard to navigate to screen out the excessive number of rednecks. I was told by Daddy J that OkCupid would be a better site to meet poly people. I’m done making certain (almost monogamous) mistakes, and so I have started an account in OkCupid. It’s a pretty good dating site, and so far, because of the mandatory quiz questions, I rarely get matched up with anyone who is a douchebag – because it is not only gay friendly, it’s poly friendly too. But, that doesn’t mean there aren’t any douchebags.

So, I won’t even bother telling you what has happened with any boy yet (I have only met a few and only once) but I have chatted with a few who are 1) bad at conversation, and 2) really think highly of themselves. There’s confidence – which I like, and there’s arrogance – which I dislike. This man made the mistake of thinking he was poly and that was enough…

Guy: "I was in a polyamorous relationship for 5 years. I’m starting a grad program in [insert field here] next year, unless I get a better job offer. Afterwords you can message me and see if you can impress me ;)"

Me: "I will not take you up on that challenge, because I don’t really feel the need to. :)"

Guy: "Sassy. Lovely 🙂

So I’m guessing you stick to near virgins and guys who follow you around like puppy dogs. Because you like the attention – that’s alright. For you, I suspect polyamory is a way to tease the fellows in grad school. Be honest, did I call it?

Kindest Regards,
[insert name here]

Me: "Hi [insert name here],

No, I just don’t give in to douche bags who have read "The Game" and think that putting down the pretty girls is the way to go. Straight from xkcd (http://xkcd.com/800/) Beautiful Dream: "I wish all the girls who read and followed "The Rules" and all the guys that swear by the techniques of "The Game" paired off with each other and left the rest of us alone forever."

There’s a chinese term for that, and it’s usually a compensatory mechanism to make girls feel insecure and boost the man’s self esteem by doing so. Did I call that?

As for polyamoury, I’ve had enough experience being a serial monogamist to know what I want out of relationship(s).

Sincerely,
[me]

Seriously? Can you tell me what’s wrong here?

This entry was posted in Romance. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment